Diwali – Festival of Lights

Diwali,or Deepawali, (also called Tihar and Swanti in Nepal) is major Indian and Nepalese festive holiday, and a significant festival in Hinduism and some of the other faiths which originated in India.


Diwali is a celebration observed by Hindus, Sikhs and Jains and means “series of lights”.

It’s a beautiful representation of light over darkness, and how Hindu faith believes that good will always triumph over evil. People decorate everywhere with lights and candles and fireworks light the sky as Diwali coincides with Hindu New Year.

The dates are calculated from the Hindu lunar calendar and therefore changes each year, usually in the fall of october/november.

This year if falls on October 17-21, and the different days have different meanings.

Day 1 – Dhan Teras: The first day marks the beginning of the festivities and is dedicated to celebrating prosperity. (Dhah means wealth.)

Day 2 – Kali Chaudas: Is the day before Diwali and known as the day Lord Krishna destroyed the demon Narakasura.

Day 3 – Diwali/Deepawali: This is the most significant day, and the actual Diwali. This is the darkest day of the month and the day of the new moon.

Day 4 – Vishwakarma/Annakut: The fourth day is celebrated differently in different places in India, mostly it is the beginning of the new year.

Day 5: Bhai Dooj/Bhai Beej: The day that celebrates brothers and sisters and wishing them health and wealth for the coming year.

I am going to celebrate Diwali for the first time this year. As I believe the best way to know the world, the people in it and yourself is to explore different places and different cultures. I have never been to India, but I am part Indian and I feel it’s important to know the roots of your soul. And in these dark days, a little light is sorely needed…

Wishing you all a Happy Diwali!